Plans for 2014

OK, so i’m a few days late.  I haven’t made New Year’s resolutions in years… which is probably why I’ve been doing the same crap in the same way for the last few years.

You're telling me, kitty.

You’re telling me, kitty.

Here are some of the changes to make in 2014:

1.  Walk at least 400 miles.

Thanks for setting an example, Proclaimers!

Thanks for setting an example, Proclaimers!

I already walk a lot – at least three days per week, no matter the weather. 100 degrees and 90% humidity? I walk.  25 and snowing? I walk.  Fog?  I walk.  Thunder and lightning?  Ok, then I’ll stay home.  Mama didn’t raise no fools.

In the fall of 2013, I started using the Map My Walk app.  As the name implies, the app maps your route as you walk and tracks how far you go.  At the end of every week, month, and year, it sends you an email telling you how many times you worked out, how far you went, and how many calories you burned.  According to the app, I’d walked 125 miles by the end of 2013 – and that’s just in the last 3.5 months of the year!

To put it another way, 400 miles divided by 365 days is roughly 1.1 miles per day.  Most days, I do 2-3 miles; this should be the easiest of my goals.

2.  Clean the downstairs bathroom.  You must be wondering what sort of hoarder I am.  Let me explain:

DH and I moved into our house shortly after we were married, and back then we had two cats.  The downstairs bathroom became the exclusive domain of the litter boxes, and the humans only used the upstairs bathrooms.  In 2013, the cats departed this vale of tears, and while the litter boxes have been removed, the bathroom still has a fine patina of cat litter dust all over it.  Needless to say, we haven’t used it.   So, one of my goals for 2014 is to get this bathroom operational, and that plays into another goal for 2014:

210440-royalty-free-rf-clipart-illustration-of-retro-black-and-white-men-carrying-a-were-moving-sign

3. Move.  Where we shall go, I can’t say.  We might move to Mountain Time Zone (closer to DH’s parents).  We might move to the West Coast (closer to my brother-in-law, sister-in-law, and nephew).  Or we might just move 30 minutes away to the big city (closer to our jobs).  But either way, it’s well past time for us to pry ourselves out of the college town where we’ve lived since, er… college.

What do you have planned for 2014?

One response to “Plans for 2014

  1. Great goals! I have not defined any particular goals, which makes it a little difficult to meet any goals. Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

